Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cross country teams, seven runners earn academic honors

WATERVILLE, Maine -- The Colby College men's and women's cross country teams earned academic honors and seven runners were selected as U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Scholar Athlete Award winners.

The Colby women had a team grade point average of 3.58 and the men were at 3.53, well above the minimum 3.10 needed to earn the team academic honor. Both teams are led by head coach Jared Beers. 
Brit Biddle (Burlingame, Calif.), Helen Chavey (West Hartford, Conn.), Hannah Springhorn (Guilford, Conn.), and Sonia Tremblay (Billerica, Mass.) were honored from the Colby women's team. Runners needed at least a 3.30 grade point average and finish in the top 25 percent of their regional meet.
Eli Decker (Concord, Mass.), Ewan Frick (Kansas City, Mo.), and Collins Kibet (Rift Valley, Kenya) were the three Colby men to earn the award.