Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's lacrosse has three on NEILA preseason team

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College's Tucker Dietrick (Wellesley, Mass.), C.J. Layton (Wakefield, Mass.), and Graham Lian (Alexandria, Va.) were all named honorable mention selections on the New England
Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Preseason Division III Team.

Dietrick (pictured right) was selected as a midfielder, Layton plays in goal, and Lian is a defender.

Dietrick had a breakout 2017 season with 13 goals and 11 assists for 24 points. He was second on the Mules in assists, fourth in scoring, and had 11 ground balls.  Dietrick, a senior, has 21 goals and 16
assists for 37 career points.

Layton was terrific in goal for the Mules, earning All-New England Small College Athletic Conference Second Team honors. The junior was first in the league in saves per game (13.5), fourth in save percentage (55.8), and fifth in goals against average (11.06).

Lian (pictured bottom) continued his fine play on defense by placing third on the team in both ground balls (28) and caused turnovers (11). The senior has 82 career ground balls and 43 caused turnovers.

Colby opens the season at Amherst College on Saturday, March 3, at 1 p.m. The Mules have their home opener Saturday, March 10, at 1 p.m. at Harold Alfond Stadium.

New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association
Preseason Teams
Attack: Danny Murphy, Tufts; Henry Riehl, Middlebury; Colin Minicus, Amherst
Midfield: Andrew Ford, Amherst; Matt Crowell, Bowdoin; Brogan Mahon, Amherst
Goalie: Ben Shmerler, Tufts
Defense: Connor Lansdale, Tufts; Eric Rogers, Middlebury; Parker
Sessions, Bowdoin
Face-Off Specialist: Ben Parens, Conn. College
Short-Stick Def. Midfielder: Jimmy McAfee, Amherst
Long-Stick Midfielder: Jordan Sanford, Amherst
Matt Chlastawa, Bates; Evan Wolf, Amherst; Brett Kujala, Bowdoin
Midfield: Dan Buckman, Bowdoin; Parker Lawlor, Middlebury; Frank Hattler, Tufts
Goalie: Chase Midgley, Middlebury; Jake Reynolds, Springfield
Defense: Arend Broekmate, Tufts; Connor Eschmann, Springfield; Gabriel
Goncalves, Amherst; Jack O’Donoghue, Babson
Face-Off Specialist: Dylan Finazzo, Amherst
Short-Stick Def. Midfielder: Cam Irwin, Tufts
Long-Stick Midfielder: Rock Stewart, Williams
Attack: Ben Connolly, Tufts; AJ Kucinski, Middlebury; PJ Kelleher,
Connecticut College
Midfield: Brendan Hoffman, Williams; Dahnique Brown-Jones, Bates;
Tucker Dietrick, Colby
Goalie: CJ Layton, Colby
Defense: John Kapnis, Springfield; Graham Lian, Colby; Grant Garrity, Endicott
Face-Off Specialist: Henry Hollen, Tufts
Short-Stick Def. Midfielder: Hayden Souza, Endicott
Long-Stick Midfielder: Oskar Djusberg, W. New England