Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Layton earns men's lacrosse All-NESCAC honor for second time

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College goaltender C.J. Layton (Wakefield, Mass.) earned New England Small College Athletic Conference Second Team honors for men's lacrosse for the second year in a row.

Layton will have a chance to be a three-time All-NESCAC selection next year.
Layton had 143 saves and 26 ground balls in 13 games this season. He has 340 career saves, with 332 coming over the last two seasons. 
Layton also is one of the top goalies in handling the ball and helping the Mules on clears. He had just six turnovers this season despite often working with Colby's defense on clears.
Layton helped the Mules double their win total from last year and win one more conference game. Colby finished 6-7 overall and won three games in the league.
NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
Player of the Year: Evan Wolf, Amherst
Rookie of the Year: Ronan Jacoby, Wesleyan
Coach of the Year: Jon Thompson, Amherst
First Team
A Colin Minicus, Amherst. So., Darien, Conn.
A Danny Murphy, Tufts, Jr., Hauppauge, N.Y.
A Evan Wolf, Amherst, Jr., Wynnewood, Pa.
M Matthew Crowell, Bowdoin, Sr., Medfield, Mass.
M Michael McCormack, Middlebury, Jr., Williamstown, Mass.
M Matt Solberg, Amherst, So., East Grand Rapids, Mich.
D Rocco Fantoni, Bates, Jr., Hauppauge, N.Y.
D Eric Rogers, Middlebury, Sr., Lebanon, N.J.
D Parker Sessions, Bowdoin, Sr., Baltimore, Md.
G Otto Bohan, Wesleyan, So., Westlake, Ohio
FO Dylan Finazzo, Amherst, So., Bohemia, N.Y.
LSM Jordan Sanford, Amherst, Sr., Grand Rapids, Mich.
SSM Jimmy McAfee, Amherst, So., Perrineville, N.J.
Second Team
A Matt Chlastawa, Bates, So., Westfield, Mass.
A Carter Hawthorne, Wesleyan, Jr., Massapequa, N.Y.
A Henry Riehl, Middlebury, Jr., Baltimore, Md.
A Harry Stanton, Wesleyan, Jr., New Canaan, Conn.
M Christian Barker, Wesleyan, Jr., Highlands Ranch, Colo.
M Taylor Ghesquiere, Wesleyan, Sr., Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
M Nick Shanks, Tufts, So., Laguna Beach, Calif.
D Arend Broekmate, Tufts, Jr., Sammamish, Wash.
D Connor Lansdale, Tufts, Sr., San Diego, Calif.
D Andres Rodriguez, Wesleyan, Sr., Morristown, N.J.
GK C.J. Layton, Colby, Jr., Wakefield, Mass.
GK George Peele, Williams, So., Norwalk, Conn.
FO Sam Carlin, Bowdoin, Jr., New Albany, Ohio
LSM Rock Stewart, Williams, So., Darien, Conn.
SSM Cam Irwin, Tufts, Sr., Glenview, Ill.