Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Second Varsity Eight Beats UVM and UNH in Hume Center Showdown

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby Men's Crew hosted its annual race against UNH and UVM for its only home regatta of the season at the Colby Hume Center. Rain and wind whipped down Messalonskee Lake at times, but Colby's local knowledge gave them an edge in their head to head races.

The day started with the Men's First Varsity Eight event. Colby's First Varsity of Coxswain Chessy Singer, Stroke Liam Rex, 7 Ethan Ashley, 6 Jeff Endler, 5 Drew Eckler, 4 Arthur Benson, 3 Ethan Boone, 2 Chris Rodiger, and Bow Henry Toulmin took second with a time of 6:31.3 behind UVM's 6:23.8, and ahead of UNH's 6:50.8.

The next event was the Men's Second Varsity Eight. The Mules' Second Varsity Eight of Coxswain Minori Cohan, Stroke Parker Sikora, 7 Sam Subbukumar, 6 Daniel Ellison, 5 Chris Marcello, 4 Will Seivwright, 3 Simon Pratico, 2 Daniel Koo, and Bow Henry Lockwood commanded the race and won with a time of 6:36.6. The next boat across the line was the Colby Men's Third Varsity Eight of Coxswain Catie Blair, Stroke Will Cordonnier, 7 Jack Koskinen, 6 Teddy Storrs, 5 Jack Coffman, 4 Matt Gawley, 3 Zack Boone, 2 John Olson, and Bow Jason Leong with a time of 6:47.3. With no other Third Varsity Eights to race against, the CMC Third Varsity stepped up and competed in the Second Varsity event, placing themselves ahead of the UNH Second Varsity (6:49.0), and UVM Second Varsity (6:59.6).

Colby Crew travels down to Greene, ME on April 28th to face off in the 23rd Presidents Cup, an annual race and rivalry among Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin.


Header Photo by P'20 Lise Hafner