Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cassidy, Corbett, Whitmyer earn All-NESCAC field hockey honors

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College's Georgia Cassidy (Darien, Conn.), Ally Corbett (Oakland, Maine), and Riley Whitmyer (Bentleyville, Ohio) were all named to the New England Small College Athletic Conference Second Team on Wednesday.

The Mules tie a team record with three all-league selections. Colby also had three players selected in 2014. The NESCAC started a playoff system in the 2000 season.
Cassidy, who earned All-NESCAC Second Team honors for the second year in a row, joined NESCAC Player of the Year Erin Nicholas of Middlebury has the lone players to be in the top five in conference goal scoring, assists, and total points. Cassidy, a junior, finished with 12 goals and nine assists for 33 points. She has 66 career points in her two years with the Mules.
"Georgia is one of the most competitive players I have had the pleasure to coach," Colby head coach Kelly Terwilliger said. "Georgia competes with fire in her eyes. Often doubled if not tripled team, she finds a way to get the ball and create plays."  
Corbett, a sophomore defender, is a transfer from St. Joseph's University. She had one assist on the season and was a key player in back with her passing and ball striking abilities. 
"Ally had an incredible first season," Terwilliger said. "Cool, calm, and collected in the backfield, she is a talented playmaker and distributor." 
Whitmyer, a senior and three-year starter, finished her career with 308 saves, a .798 save percentage, 20 victories, 12 shutouts and a 1.98 goals against average. She led the NESCAC this season in total saves and led the league in save percentage last year. 
"It has been an absolute pleasure to work with a keeper of Riley's caliber. She had a standout season," Terwilliger said. "Riley came through in crucial moments and has had some big plays for us. What I admire most about Riley is she is the definition of a great teammate."
NESCAC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams
Player of the Year: Erin Nicholas, Middlebury
Offensive Player of the Year: Chandler Solimine, Trinity
Rookie of the Year: Manveer Sandhu, Bowdoin
Coach of the Year: Katharine DeLorenzo, Middlebury
Libby Dolan, Williams, forward, senior
Kara Finnerty, Bowdoin, forward, junior
Michaela Giuttari, Hamilton, forward, junior
Grace Jennings, Middlebury, forward, senior
Chandler Solimine, Trinity, forward, senior
Marissa Baker, Middlebury, midfield, junior
Shannon Tierney, Amherst, midfield, senior
Kendall Codey, Amherst, back, senior
Issy Del Priore, Tufts, back, senior
Erin Nicholas, Middlebury, back, sophomore
Lori Berger, Trinity, goalkeeper, senior
Georgia Cassidy, Colby, forward, junior
Taylor Lough, Bates, forward, senior
Emma Stevens, Bowdoin, forward, junior
Gigi Tutoni, Tufts, forward, senior
Lizzie Clarke, Hamilton, midfield, junior
Fallon Shaughnessy, Tufts, midfield, senior
Elizabeth Bennewitz, Bowdoin, back, senior
Ally Corbett, Colby, back, sophomore
Marissa Feller, Williams, back, junior
Sarah Kane, Hamilton, back, senior
Riley Whitmyer, Colby, goalkeeper, senior
Field hockey tops Camels, 2-1
September 23, 2018 Field hockey tops Camels, 2-1