Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Schwern, Bullard both earn football team MVP honors

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College running back Jake Schwern earned the Offensive Most Valuable Player honor and teammate Marcus Bullard won the Defensive MVP award at the football team's annual banquet.

Schwern (right), who earned All-NESCAC Second Team honors, was second in the NESCAC in total rushing yards (971), second in yards per game (107.9), tied for second in rushing touchdowns (9), first in total rushes (234), and helped the Mules by not losing a fumble this year. Schwern finished his career with 1,745 yards of rushing, 424 receiving yards, and 17 total touchdowns in three seasons playing offense. 
Bullard (bottom right), despite missing two games due to injury, led the Mules with 55 total tackles and ranked fifth in the NESCAC is tackles per game (7.9). Bullard, a sophomore linebacker, helped the Mules win the Colby-Bates-Bowdoin (CBB) title by tying for a team-high nine tackles and making an interception with his team leading 17-0 on the way to a 30-14 win over rival Bowdoin College.
Colby junior running back Chris George was named the Special Teams MVP after finishing the season with four tackles and a fumble recovery. He also had eight tackles during his sophomore year. George has twice been on the NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team.
The Herbert A. Wadsworth Award for Most Improved Players went to sophomore offensive lineman Brandon Leibman and junior cornerback Asher Inman. Leibman started for the first time and helped Schwern rush for nearly 1,000 yards and first-year quarterback Matt Hersch complete 60.5 percent of his passes for 1,342 yards. Meanwhile, Inman started at cornerback and had 25 tackles and four pass break-ups.
Senior wide receiver Matt Richman was honored with the Paul "Ginger" Fraser Award for a player who best exhibits qualities of unselfishness, loyalty to the program, and exemplifies all aspects of being a team player. Richman, a NESCAC Fall All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship selection this year, had 18 catches for 132 yards.
Senior captain Sebastien Philemon was given the Jorgen Bocklage Award for a player with unusual commitment, a great attitude, and a true love for the game of football. The award is presented to a player who has overcome adversity and hardship, and only through perseverance, physical hardness, and mental toughness has continued to play. Philemon missed most of the 2018 season due to injury, but fought back to play the final few games. He led the Mules in tackles with 76 from his middle linebacker position in 2017.
Senior captain Shane Normandeau and senior defensive back Will Caffey both were named Tom Austin Award winners. Normandeau, an offensive lineman, was a leader on a much improved line. Caffey was fourth on the Mules in tackles with 40, had five pass break-ups, and one forced fumble. The Austin Award is presented to a player or players who represent the ideals of Colby football, who has distinguished himself on and off the field, who has grown and matured as a result of his Colby football experience.
First-year defensive back George Eisenhauer and first-year defensive lineman Matt Dalton both earned the inaugural Scout Team Player Award. The honor is given to players who best demonstrate a fundamental value of the Mule program. Players are selected by the coaching staff in recognition of their practice attitude and effort.